Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Sportsman® 850 Reviews

2019 Sportsman® 850 Sage Green is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 106.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing else like it! Had this machine since early Spring. Use it extensively in the mountains. I live at 9,300ft. In elevation. This Polaris NEVER lacks power, dependability and comfort.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my 850!!! Bought a 570 new in 2015 and had to sell it before last summer due to bills. When I got a flyer for new machines this spring, I went to check them out fully intending to buy a new 570 sp. After driving the sp, I tried the 850 right next to it and fell in love with the ride and power. Took it home 3 days later and haven't stopped smiling since. Awesome machine!!!
Date published: 2019-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome all around machine I've had my 8:50 for about 4 months now. I bought it as an addition to my 2011 Sportsman 550 XP that has 2300 miles and also has been a great machine. The 850 has tons of power and the more you stab the throttle the more power just keeps coming and it never seems like it runs out. The ride is incredibly smooth and that paired with a very smooth running engine makes this a great choice for day long rides and working without fatigue. I haven't really run into anything to complain about with it yet. The storage is great although one issue that I could see is someone that would want to put a box on the back rack would then cover the built-in rear storage compartment making it difficult or completely inaccessible. That being said there is quite a bit of waterproof storage between the front and rear rack and I haven't felt the need for more personally. I 100% recommend this machine to anyone looking for a great work and play machine.
Date published: 2019-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expectations exceeded I bought my sportsman 850 a few months ago and have not looked back since! Absolutely love it. It has great handling, power, and performance. I mainly use it for trail riding and have put on about 600 km, it has more then exceeded my expectations!
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I GOT A LEMON Machine is awesome when it works. But unfortunately for me, I have had to take it to the dealer for warranty work do to the 4wd not working. They have replaced the same part 3 times. I have 10 hrs. On the four wheeler. Not happy.
Date published: 2018-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing power with A comfortable ride I bought the atv a couple months ago and couldn’t be any happier. This Machine is more powerful than any other four wheeler I’ve ever owned. Reaching speeds in excess of 80mph on a utility four wheeler is amazing.
Date published: 2020-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and easy to handle machine. I bought my Polaris Sportsman 850 about 2 months and I am really happy with my decision. I had never owned anything like this before and was surprised how easy it was to drive and customize to fit my needs.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really great machine. The more I ride this 850 trail edition the more I like the features and plush ride, never thought it would be better than my 570 touring, but it is!! This is my sixth Sportsman and I love them.
Date published: 2020-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great atv I bought it in May of 2018 I've had it for 2 months now, got 760 miles on it I have had zero issues with the atv. It has great power and handles good. Over all I'm very happy with it.
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polaris 850 sportsman is the best there is The Polaris 850 sportsman is the best four wheeler out there. Absolutely love the Polaris sportsman. It can do anything that you want it to do. Differently worth buying.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product, Needs Accessories Excellent product, but requires to many accessories to make it fully usable in any form of usage. Have to add winch, rack extenders, etc... Very short warranty period.
Date published: 2020-01-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s the best thing ever I love it the only thing I can’t order is a arm skid plates I had them on my 2009 850 and it’s way bettter this one I’m Waiting still but I love it still
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine I was doing some research on the sportsman 850. Decided that's when I want. Was really amazed at the power it has! It gets the job done!
Date published: 2020-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing quad I bought in October and am loving it. I’ve taken it to Hatfield McCoy trails and the hills, mud and terrain were no problem
Date published: 2020-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brush bar Love the machine, disappointing no brush bar, to make people shell out money for that, it comes on every other 4 wheeler
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great atv We have had the 850 for 4 months and don’t regret buying this atv once. It does everything I need it to do with ease.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love how it handles and smooth ride and the power Really glad that I bought it . Plenty of power, rides really smooth. Works Awesome !!!!!
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine Bought it a couple of months ago, bought for working around the house and for trail riding
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great comfort I bought this machine a couple months ago and couldn’t be happier with my purchase!
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience 21 hours on it and I have re regrets. No problems at all and it’s a blast to ride.
Date published: 2020-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some nice features are back on the sportsman. I bought my 850 trail package in January and really like it a lot. Like that they added the front storage compartment again. Also like the way they covered the motor in by foot wells, water and mud don't come through like before. The different things you can do to the screen on the pod are nice. The only thing that I can't get to is the rear storage compartment with my lock and ride box on it.
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great power, nice smooth ride. Loads of towing and very comfortable
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Mean Machine I bought this as a work horse, but as a toy as well. This machine has outperformed my expectations. Is is stout enough to pull large logs, haul trailers full of logs and brush. It handles like a smaller machine. Very nimble. I looked at other brands, test drive a few and glad I made the decision I did.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride, great looks just as I imagined Great machine very please with it and would recommend it any time.
Date published: 2020-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving it! I bought it back in November 2018 and I'm going on my first big ride in may. I've played around in some scramble areas with it and it has tons of power and gets up and goes with ease. So far I'm loving this thing.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this ATV I was a die hard can am person for along time. What changed that is Fun Unlimited sales and service. They treat you like family and someone that goes that far I would dive any machine.
Date published: 2018-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice machine I bought this sportsman a couple months back. I used to have a grizzly 700 and this thing is night and day better. Power is my main love but ride quality is a close second.
Date published: 2019-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ride lots of power I got my atv a couple of months ago and finally got out to use it love the ride. The all wheel drive works amazing and more power then I need but sure nice to have.
Date published: 2019-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power with excellent ride quality Excellent suspension and ride quality. Really like the arched A arms and ground clearance and the 26” tires that come stock. Lots of power from this engine.
Date published: 2019-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smoothest Ride I’ve been very impressed with the power and ride quality of this machine. Also the thought into the engineering of these making accessories easy to install.
Date published: 2019-05-07
  • y_2020, m_6, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_106
  • loc_en_US, sid_A19SXA85B1, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 99ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT