Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Sportsman® High Lifter Edition Reviews

2021 Sportsman XP 1000 High Lifter Edition Ghost Gray is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 176.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good all around machine I've had the machine a few months now and put it through alot its decent on the trails for a day of riding and great in the mud as it should be the winch is great amd does more then u ask it to its saved me a few times for sure from the deep dark muck and over some bad rock hill climbs it hasn't let me down yet the only thing I'm not crazy about is the hesitation before it takes off it takes a little getting used to and the active hill decent works great as long as you dont let off the throttle seems odd giving it faster going down hill but it works great just takes some getting used to
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smooth Ride It's very effortless to drive! The turning radius is not sharp so it's not meant for tight turns. It also has a slow reaction when you hit the throttle in order to engage the belt, which scares people but it's also good for kids!
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features i bought this atv a little more than a month ago and i am very pleased with it it so far. i kind of regret not going with the 1000cc and the power steering but i am looking into getting it put on my 850 if its possible.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It rips thought the mudd I bought it all Most 2 months ago an blow my motor the first 20hr An Polaris wouldn’t warranty it. Got dirt in the motor from a plug that wasn’t put on from the factory. But uthere than that it’s been great
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great atv Bought a couple months ago and have had no problem with the atv at all great in the mud. Is not a bike for trail riding though so to the tires but is a beast through the mud.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from need to review after a year not 3 months when 1 mo I have had this for 3 months. it has been in the shop for 1 month of the 3 months. i want the warranty extended since it has been in your control and not mine. seems the front differential should be recalled. i have friends that also have problems with there front differential. i have not added a winch or made any changes to the machine yet. so at this point it is stock. it has great power. fun to ride. ask me again after a year.
Date published: 2020-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Monster I have two 570 sportsman and couldn't believe the places they took me, but this 1000 highlifter is a monster. I don't think there's anywhere it can't go. Love this machine
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine surpassed my expectations, can literally barry thing, axle shafts are weak but other than that will definitely buy another!!
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Complete package Bought my machine 2 minths ago and 100 miles ago.good over all package but nothing to write home about.needs more top end speed
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful quad, but little things could be improved I really like it, it has lots of power, great in the mud. But I’m finding that there are a little things that are breaking. Going to have to replace a few small parts already, and I haven’t even broke it in. It took very little pressure to break the rubber grab bar that goes between the handle grips (don’t know what it’s actually called). Also, I wish that where the winch cable comes out they were rollers instead of soft steel. That is already busted. And I’ve barely use the winch. only used it with the snowplow. Here are a few pictures.
Date published: 2020-02-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good atv Atv has tons of power and great ride. Only negative is headlights are not bright, could use a design with new style led. already had to replace battery, which I believe is a known problem. It would not even take a charge. Rear bumper has 2 plastic plugs on each side. Lost both after first couple rides. Should be replaced with metal/welded plugs like the front bumper.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small imperfections I’ve had two high lifter 1000s I love both of them only thing I do not like about them and my Polaris sportsman 570 is the seat design I with it had a leaver release like most other atv’s also I wish the battery was a little easier to get to on them as well it makes it a tad difficult to add any goodies such as speakers and light bars.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from WARRANTY/MAINTENANCE issues Bought in September 2019. Had issues with clutch in belt box. Got that resolved. Had more issues with clutch in belt box. same problem, water in snorkel tube and belt box which is not covered under warranty. Know for a fact quad never went more than 2 feet in water. I found rear belt cover warped on top and service center (ride now powersports Jacksonville fl) never said a word about it. I used silicone caulk to seal the belt box and guess what, no more leak. Belt box is plastic and of poor design. Warps easily.
Date published: 2020-01-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun ride I bought this a a couple of months ago. Seems to be a few issues with it. I can’t keep it cool for 1. Go through one mud hole and I need to go home and wash the rad out or it will get hot and derate. It has 2 fans and yesterday one stopped working.
Date published: 2018-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good out of the box mud machine I bought this 5 months ago and have rode in many different types of areas ranging from super deep peanut butter mud, flooded streams, dry hardpack trail, super deep snow, and everything in between. The machine handles everything I have thrown at it and the power is awesome. It is built well from the factory and there is not much you have to do to make it cap[able. I put some upgrades on it but overall Polaris did a great job. No major issues to date. My main gripe though is the belt is a MAJOR PITA to change on the trail if you had belt issues. I tore down the belt box and resealed it myself for piece of mind. You literally have to remove the rear left wheel, remove a ton of plastics, air ducts, and the rear fender assembly to get the belt box cover off to access the belt (for the highlifter model). This is not fun in the cold or pouring rain. Also the wheel bearings had very little grease and the battery is hard to get to behind the rear bumper and front plastics. The rad cover is a joke. It will rattle loose within minutes on a ride. I replaced it with an aftermarket one. The ride is a little stiff but its a mud specific bike. Also, may forums talk about the front differentiaI issues. I replaced the front differential oil with a non-polaris brand. It appears that the front diff magnets engage randomly in 2WD causing front diff failure when the rear wheels are turning at a higher speed than the front (ie donuts, drifting corners etc), especially when using the Polaris front diff oil (for some reason). This engagement will blow out the next weakest link. The pinion plate is often to blame but it's not the actual cause. After switching to the non-polaris front diff oil, many riders have had zero accidental front diff engagements in 2WD. Overall everything is sealed well, the power is smooth and consistent, The AWD is amazing, rider ergonomics are perfect, and I am happy with my purchase. I would recommend one to a friend but keep in mind I may have got a good one that was built well. I have friends that have had nothing but issues. They may have got a "Friday build" if you know what I mean.
Date published: 2019-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does everything!! Got this for our 5 year anniversary and we couldn't be more happy! Literally does everything we have asked of it, plenty of power! Wish it would've came with power steering and a winch but for the price you cannot beat it!!! Great mud machine!!
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the low end torque. I bought this machine about a month ago. Glad I did. This machine has great throttle response, great low end torque, great handling can’t even tell the four wheeler has big tires. The only thing I would improve is the rear driveshaft.
Date published: 2020-07-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice mud machine I bought a 2018 high lifter 1000 then I let my boy ride it then he had to have one so I bought him a 2019 high lifter 850. I have had both machines less than a year so far they are good machines but could use a couple things made better or improved but every Brand has a few things or problems to improve on because I’ve had can am , Honda, Kawasaki, arctic cat, Yamaha And now Polaris atvs that I can say that they could all improve things. Manufactures need to listen to the buyers of there products suggestions to improve these machines If they want us to keep buying there brand. Really hope these Polaris machines are reliable and hold up because I have a lot of money tied up in them and I’m am tired of switching brands every year or two plus I plan on buying another Polaris in next year or so.
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bike I bought this this bike about 3 months ago and couldn’t be happier, got around 1300 kms now trouble free, my only complaint is the 80 km a hour speed limiter. The high range gear reduction is a little too much.
Date published: 2018-08-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Built for one thing only Bought my highlifter 850 couple months ago. In the mud it’s unreal. Immediate power, great traction, comfortable and dependable. However if you hunt or trial ride just as much or more than you ride in the mud this machine isn’t for you. There are no back or front racks, it’s top speed is limited at 50. Hitting small holes at speeds over 15 sounds like ur bottoming the shocks out, there are no bumpers front and back at this time for the highlighter edition but you can get the 1k bumpers and make them work. All in all it’s a massive amazing powerful machine. I just wouldn’t recommend it if you don’t go in deep mud and do it a lot. You do get a peace of mind with the highlifter model though. No worries of swamping it or getting your belt wet just hitting mild holes. You gotta submerge it to do that.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Handles everything one puts it through Bought the bike 3 months ago. Very fun in mud. Could have a bit more power but it is a 850 and not the 1000.
Date published: 2018-08-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stout bike Good riding bike does great In The mud till you get in the real deep stuff have had 2 front diffs replaced and a rear drive shaft because the ujoints are none serviceable
Date published: 2020-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome mud quad I've owned it for 3 months and couldnt be happier. You could not buy and build a mud bike for that same price
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great features Wanted to do something different talked to a friend and rode his machine and instantly had to have one
Date published: 2020-07-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good Great bike so far. Lots of power. Lots of fun. Just have to know limitations. Mot into lots of mods.
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Everything breaks Always breaks spends more time at shop than at my hs
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sexy beast Love the ground clearance the power is amazing beautiful like a unicorn she loves the Mudd
Date published: 2018-12-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Off-road machine I purchased my Polaris sportsman 850 highlifter edition 3 months ago, although I honestly had my eyes on another machine initially I do not regret my decision on the Polaris. I wanted a bike that was ready for the mud and the highlifter edition is just that with everything you need right from the dealer. The 29.5 outlaw 2 tires are a excellent performing tire in the mud, sand and anything else you may in-counter. In addition, the high-lifter edition comes with the radiator relocated as well as snorkeled. You literally don’t need to do a single thing as far as modifications to this bike if you are looking to go from the dealer to the mud hole (after the initial break-in period of course) The sportsman 850 has plenty of power and incredible amount of torque to spin the massive 29.5 tires and pull you out of the nastiest mud. When it comes to reliability, I have yet to have a issue with the bike with just over 40 Hard hours on it. Of course, with anything following manufacture recommendations on maintenance intervals and using the correct fluids with only extend the longitivtiy of the bike. I would highly recommend the Polaris sportsman 850 high lifter edition if you are looking for a turn key mud ready atv.
Date published: 2020-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice machine It need a little more ground clearance and wider wheel base
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the bike, but would make changes I’ve had the bike a few months now. It a very great dependable atv, but I would redesign the radiator cover. The clips have already broke and I had to order aftermarket ones that screw the cover down, they work way better. I have trouble with the front of the cover popping up on bumpy rides, I’ve been thinking about putting some type of rubber strap to bind it down kind of like on a yeti Ice chest. Other than that it’s a very strong smooth running bike.
Date published: 2020-06-26
  • y_2020, m_11, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_176
  • loc_en_US, sid_A21SXM95AG, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2020 Polaris Inc.