Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Sportsman® Touring 850 Reviews

2021 Sportsman Touring 850 Navy Blue is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 319.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty of Power! Smooth Ride! I bought this 2019 Polaris sportsman 850SP premium in January of 2020. Very happy with the power comfort and ride ability of the machine. However it just went in for its 1st service (25 Hours) which includes an oil change and full inspection which revealed a little bit of slack and the front drive train coming from transmission. Tech said it was fairly normal but to keep an eye on it and not worry too much because I have the full aftermarket warranty.
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bike! I bought my 850 Sportsman Touring July 1st. It was my first ATV. The bike is quite user friendly, has good power and a comfortable ride, even when carrying a passenger. I just use it for small things around my property however my 16yr old son has put most of the miles on it and he's quite happy with it. We did have an issue with a rock hitting the back of one of the headlights smashing out the back of the housing. I was disappointed that it wasn't warrantied by Polaris as its obviously a design flaw not being protected
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Don’t go through puddles Radiator was redesigned since my 2014 and catches all mud possible there are no shrouds on bottom of radiator to block mud coming up from underneath machine and the radiator is tilted backwards Wich allows all mud to sit on it and dry
Date published: 2018-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ride Bought it 3 months ago and very impressive machine two things I’d like to see improved tho factory lighting and factory tires those two not even close to the competition on same level of options
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lots of power, poor tires, clutch broke Bike needs better stock tires, compared to can am the tires are basically a street tire. I have 10 hours on engine and the clutch already went. Tonnes of power and plush ride.
Date published: 2020-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing power and incredible ride!! This is my 3rd Sportsman atv and this one is by far the best one!! The power is amazing with smooth delivery and rocket ship acceleration! Suspension is insanely plush and feels like your riding on air! The new seat is crazy soft and you just sink into it! I love the amount of storage and the improved body work with factory fender flares to keep you clean! Overall it’s a perfect machine to play on or work with! A++++++++++
Date published: 2020-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great riding machine but.. I bought my Sportsman 850 and was super excited about the ride quality and power. The handling and ride performance is the best I've experienced from an ATV. However, after putting just a couple hours on the machine (notably only light riding around our farm), I started noticing a clunking sound coming from the rear end, especially at low speeds. I'm not 100% sure if it's transmission related or the rear differential but it's definitely something that's going to require attention. I've had Polaris machines in the past that lasted thousands of miles without issue. I guess I'm currently a bit disappointed that this current one is already demonstrating that there's something not right. Sure glad I purchased an extended warranty.
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from value After working as a power sports technician I was able to discern which atv I felt had the best value. The polaris sportsman 850 and 1000 have a unique sound and an even better feel and ride quality than anything else I have ridden including can am, honda, arctic cat, suzuki, and yamaha. I feel this atv is the best value so that's where I chose to spend my hard earned money and I couldnt be happier with the purchase.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Winter Fun Used my 850 quite heavily this winter for ice fishing and plowing. Add some chains to the back and it was unstoppable. Easily towed two large sleds loaded with people and gear. Looking forward to trail riding this summer. Love the power steering although at higher speeds it could be dialed back a bit. Only reason its not 5 stars is the lack of options for rear storage boxes. Had to order one from Russia........
Date published: 2021-03-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from There is good and bad with this 850 touring The good: Power, handling, the ride, reliability (so far), seat comfort , front storage and 4x4 ability. The bad: No rear seat insert accessory for when riding without the rear seat( older models had this), Rear cargo box has been discontinued, rear rack is way to small, (this is a touring model and should have a rack like the can-am), Other than the basic stuff there is no cool accessories from Polaris for this model, Spent over 2 grand for Polaris beadlock wheels and tires and then found out there not true beadlocks. (Only work with the thin cheap stock tires.Polaris has yet made this right with me), Conclusion: Do to the issue with the wheel and tire package, the fact that the machine took FOREVER to get in when ordered, lack off accessories and that customer service is not Knowledgeable in regard to this model I would not recommend Polaris products to anyone
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Polaris 850 touring I am retired and my wife and I like the open feel of an atv. The 850 touring ride comfort is best in its class in my opinion. Power is another plus. We dont drive fast or look for mud holes, just like touring as the name implies. We added a mid windshield , winch , mirrors and have ordered bumpers and storage. I have no stakes in Polaris just love the machine.
Date published: 2021-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ATV Purchased 3 months ago. I am very satisfied with the ATV. The power and responsiveness is very impressive. Polaris has done an amazing job with the electric power steering. The entire design of the unit seems to wrap around the rider making you feel like a part of the arc. The only negative is that the low beam headlamps shine too high and are not adjustable.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not overly happy I had an Arctic cat xr 700 before and the Polaris seems to be a more solid bike but don’t have the ground clearance of the cat and the ride over rough terrain is much better with the cat I’m not give up on the Polaris yet because I like the power but I have a 2” lift coming for her if that don’t help I might be in the market for another brand
Date published: 2020-09-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Already replaced the entire Transmission! I purchased this item brand new and after 30 minutes of driving down a gravel road the transmission fluid was leaking, it was not sealed right from the factory and it all had to be replaced, when I received it back it would not start and had to go back as the battery was not hooked up correctly. I am just wondering what will go wrong next.
Date published: 2021-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Machine - but no accessories The machine has been great other a few small issues. Love the power steering and longer wheel base. - overheating after riding through mud / clay - rad should be tilted forward not backwards. - plastic tabs on under seat storage broke the first day - poor design - no impressed with the lack of accessories - no back storage options.
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turns heads wherever we go... We ride extensive trails near our cottage. Anytime we stop people want to look over this machine. The comfort for long rides is amazing. The two up seating is second to none. It has more than ample power. It's nice to cruise without running the tach up too. Decent on fuel consumption. Oh, and it sounds great too!
Date published: 2021-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine I love the Polaris 850 touring. I have one major complaint...I hate hate hate the up seat. It is to high, you have no center of balance, and your just flopping around. You can't tuck in to the person in front because the seat is to high and to far back. I have a 2017 570 touring and the up seat is awesome.
Date published: 2020-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All go I went to Pittsburgh NH for 5 days of riding. It was so comfortable it seemed impossible. After tweaking the spring rates a bit to dial in the handling it roared. Two up luxury and performance! The 850 motor has serious thump. Great machine. At 62 and trail riding since a young teen this is the best.
Date published: 2021-06-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome!!! I purchased my Sportsman so my niece had something safe and comfortable to ride around the farm. It has not disappointed at all! It is comfy, easy to drive, and when it’s just me and my siblings it hauls! I love my purchase and am planning on buying another one here soon.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Its OK, not Great My Hemi Ram pulls harder, expected the 850 to be quicker. Cruising down a paved 2 lane and grabbed the brake - pulled me into the oncoming lane. Now I tap the brake once in a while, hasn't happened since. Rides GREAT. Love the power steering.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good ride, could use some enhancements My husband and I bought this one to use while camping and hunting. It is powerful and easy to handle. However, the throttle is activated by pressing with the thumb which becomes very tiring after awhile. Movement of the throttle causes the ride to become jerky because of the the range of motion on the throttle is very small. Backing off just a little bit slows the ATV down alot all of the sudden. It would also be nice if there was more closed storage available with the vehicle without having to buy extra accessories. Traveling for a day and having coats, bow and arrow, backpacks...etc. becomes a exercise in creative bungi-cording things to the ATV. The passenger seat sits up high and the handle grips are perfect for hanging on while riding. We are happy with our purchase overall.
Date published: 2019-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Ride This is the fourth Sportsman 850 I have purchased, my prior machine was a 2010 850. There have been significant improvements to the handling and ride on the 2018 machine. My past experience has been, Polaris makes a very dependable Machine
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sportsman 850 so Not as much power as I was expecting from what I was told. Absolutely hate the way the racks and fenders are, to much of a pain to clean in all crevices, and of course white makes it even worse, nice smooth fenders would be better
Date published: 2020-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super fun I love my sportsman 850.touring so does my wife. Perfect for 2up riding. Power steering is a must. Which Polaris would put real tires under it right from the factory. Spent 900 on a set of real tires. Other than that awsome bike.
Date published: 2021-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Machine I have ever ridden! This bike has exceeded every expectation I have had. The ride on this bike is second to none, the suspension and ride quality is like you are riding in a Cadillac. Polaris has just received a customer for life.
Date published: 2020-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Fun Ride Great first ATV. Does everything I want and does it well. Comfortable for long rides and has great range. Has taken everything I've thrown at it and done it perfectly. Very happy with my ride.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid unit Like the acceleration. Ride quality is really good but would like the stock suspension to be firmer even at the expense of ride quality. At least give us the option. Waterproofing is excellent
Date published: 2020-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought this quad 3 months ago and aboslutely love it. Excellent comfort and power. Best machine I have ever rode. However I have not put too many hours on it yet to speak to the reliability of it. Things I would change/add. Some kind of hooks or rack in front of headlight so I could strap things to it, across front to back. Also changing of the shift stick. To some kind of system where you dont have to guess and search to find the correct position. Otherwise love this quad
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ATV Great ATV I've had Yamaha and Honda but the sportsman 850sp tramples all competition. Best money I've spent. Will be back for another one
Date published: 2018-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quad Bought it a few months ago, lots of power, pretty reliable so far, no issues yet other than the brakes squealing like anything
Date published: 2020-10-16
  • y_2022, m_8, d_9, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_319
  • loc_en_US, sid_A21SYE85AP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

**Availability of some equipment, options and/or features, including Wi-Fi connectivity on RIDE COMMAND models, may be limited or not available due to global supply issues affecting our industry. Please continue to build your vehicle and request local dealer price but be sure to work with your local Polaris dealer to ensure the vehicle you purchase includes all expected features and equipment.


All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2022 Polaris Inc.