Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Sportsman® Touring 850 Reviews

2021 Sportsman Touring 850 Navy Blue is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 319.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A beast on the mountain This goes over & up anything I’ve put in it’s path. Very responsive, plenty of power and smoother ride than my grizzly
Date published: 2021-05-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power plenty Clarence great for hunting Awesome power plenty Clarence great for huntingMy driveway is a quarter-mile long and has no problem pushing the snow
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handles like a dream. I bought this new in June of 2020, From Earl Lepine in Chapeau Que. Great Dealer, Great People, Great Service. The Touring 850 has all the power you need for the trails and whatever you find out there. We have a lot of hills, with everything from packed sand to boggy mud. My 850 powers through it all without any issue. The power steering soaks up all the bumps and effortlessly finds it's way any where I point it. The throttle response is instant and endless. (It seems) I run out of straight trail long before this thing runs out of acceleration. The brakes are smooth and bring ya down as fast as the throttle gets ya going. If you really grab them, it's like throwing out the anchor! (Handy when the Black Bear crossed in front of me suddenly) I do wish I had more storage options, I would especially like to see a large rear box that could be swapped into the rear seat space for when I'm out alone to go fishing the back lakes. A box with a "plug/latch" to go into the void space. That would stop any splash up and secure the box using the anchor points that are already there. Just a thought. Overall, thanks for a super product, and a super dealer. Wash your hands everyone.
Date published: 2020-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine. Exceededs expectations I bought this and use it almost every day and it exceeds every expectation I had of it when I bought it.
Date published: 2018-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good power I drove to Ohio, around 7 hours to buy this. I wanted this machine. I’m glad I did.
Date published: 2020-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun to ride very comfortable, good throttle response and eps works great in tight trail riding.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Styling Bought my new Polaris 850 (my second one) a couple of months ago. I love the new styling of the Sportsman. Its more aggressive looking, without sacrificing the front and rear rack space. The performance is amazing and definitely feels more peppy than the previous versions despite the engine and weight specs being the same (maybe related to new exhaust system?). There are two design changes that I am not happy about. 1) the front box is significantly smaller, which requires you to get the rear box. 2) When you get the rear box and install it, it blocks the truck space (now accessed from the top of the rear rack). These are however survivable issues, more just a nuisances. Polaris needs to come out with more 2018 accessories. I have $$ waiting to spend! The bike is awesome in every other way, and I love it.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features, great ride! Had this 3 months. Absolutely love it! Great for rugged trails & for fun.
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2020 850 Touring Most comfortable ATV I've ridden. The power, the EPS its a total package!
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2021 Sportsman Touring I use it for hunting and trails rides. Lots of power and great ride
Date published: 2021-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rides great I never had a problem with my 4 wheeler lots of power handles great
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy rider I'm an older dirt bike rider who still wants to get out and tear it up. My wife enjoys getting out with me in the Nevada dessert on her 2017 570 SP. I bought my 850 SP to be more in pace with my wife on her quad than me on a dirt bike. I was convinced to buy Polaris a second time from the reliability and performance we experienced from our 570. The 850 is just that much better with an additional 30+ hp and a smoother ride, it's all smiles. Keep it up Polaris!
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s a beast I’ve had this machine for 4 months now and have put over 700km on it. I bought it cause I farm maple syrup and I need to get around in the bush innyhe spring. It can Be a total work horse and tow a trailer full of hard wood out of the bush with ease. I was surprised how smooth it rides at low speeds in the bush. but it’s also a weapon when it wants to play and the power steering amazing Only downfall is the stock tires are not very good in snow
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Michele 850 A few years ago my husband and I bought a old green Polaris 500 to share. After a few months we purchased another used Polaris 500 so we would each have a unit to ride. After two years we upgraded and I bought a used Sportsman 570. After a another year my husband bought a used Polaris 1000. After a test drive I realized I too needed a better unit. At this point we were both riding often and needed a better unit. The Polaris 850 is my unit!
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine - Great Features - Excellent Price Purchased this ATV over the summer and have been out a ton with my boy. This machine has great power, awesome handling, and ton of neat features. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to get into off-roading. My only minor complaint is that the rear control arm bushings (that hold the knuckle) wore out prematurely. Nothing that can't be fixed with a warranty visit to my local shop. Overall, very happy with my purchase!!
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ride! I have a 2003 Polaris 800 Ranger side-by side and before that a 6 wheel Polaris Ranger! Both great machines. We also have 2 Polaris sleds. My wife loves driving her own machine! This Sportsman Touring added an element of fantastic fun! Feels like going from a car (side by side) to a motorcycle and my wife loves to ride behind me. We also love driving it in the summer as much as the winter (especially with the lack of snow)!
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Right Price The Sportsman is an all around work horse. No matter who you talk to they have ridden one of these at some point and love them and probably still have it. This machine is no different. Awesome power control, great maneuverability and agility while on the trails with lots of extras that come for free on the SP model. Polaris went above and beyond by pre-wiring the 850 SP for many parts or accessories that the 1000 has so you will find power accessory plugs around the machine waiting for you to use with no additional work. I shopped around quite a bit before landing on this machine, but I am happy I did because the experience of buying, using, and purchasing accessories have been easy and affordable as Polaris also does a great job with ensuring that customers can always buy factory parts to repair their machines if something breaks. Great machine for any riding style.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ENJOY IT ! ITS POWERFUL AND ABLE This quad, like all my other Polaris ATV's is quite capable, suspension is good once i adjusted it to my weight and riding style. With the oversized tires I added fender flares and cranked up the shock preload adjusters to keep the tires from rubbing on them. I added the Polaris winch and used it last weekend, It pulled a stuck sport quad up the hill no problem. Overall I am pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!!❤❤❤❤❤ This mighty little machine is my all around the property helper. Wheather plowing, pulling, winching or just plainly having fun, my sportsman named " Buddy" can do it all. The only thing i wished he would have less fuel consumption. Other than that, polaris is so well thought through with anything, parrs are engineerd with a brain, well fitting and great functionality. I love riding my Buddy.
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable I bought this bike to replace my aging 2009 Sportsman. What a difference despite the 2 bikes being on the same platform. The motor is a lot smoother. The suspension is amazing. Works great in the rough and how nice is the power steering? No kickback through the handle bars when you hit those submerged stumps and rocks. This bike is a great combination of power and smoothness.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrating to work on, unreliable...so far. I bought my Sportsman 850SP in May 2019 and at first I was very happy with the bike, incredible power and lots of fun to ride. As time went on I came to realize there a few things that could definitely be changed on this bike. The grease nipples on the front A-Arms are directed towards the inside of the frame making it very difficult to grease. The way the clutches are designed, being at the back of the bike to accommodate a linear engine make it nearly impossible or at least VERY difficult to change a belt if you happened to blow one on a ride. The front and rear rack design makes it very difficult to clean the bike as they aren't easily removable and mud/sand/debris packs in. The bike has a tendency to run hot, very hot. It seems that many of the little issues the bike has (atleast in my opinion) could be fixed with more aggressive clutching, lower temp fan engagement and more space to run piping to snorkel the clutch, the clutch intake sits right on top of the engine. So far, at 1500kms and less than 100 hours I've had the following. - blown belt at 600km - brakes were toast around 700km - blown hub bearing - cluster inoperable and unresponsive (backordered) - starter failed (backordered) - play in the power steering assembly - over heated and went into limp mode. (I'm predicting a pinion seal in the near future) The way it's going so far, I can't say I would give the bike itself a very positive review. However, as for the dealer they've been very accommodating and helpful. They even offered to lend me a demo in case mine wasn't ready for my hunting trip. Things I do like about the bike; the ride and handling is superior to any other bike I've ridden. The power is phenomenal, not nearly as aggressive as the can-am but much more manageable and enjoyable to ride if you like taking your time. I'm not sure if I would reccomend this bike or not to be honest. If you made it this far into my review I will say this; I dont think polaris makes a bad bike. I think I drew the short straw on this one. Many of my friends own polaris products and they've been fantastic. Most of them are ridden much harder than mine too. As for me personally, it hasn't been the most enjoyable experience yet and it's far from what I thought it was going to be.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vehicle Have had for a little over 6 months and the machine runs great. Had one minor issue with EPS, that being it shut down. Took me about and hour to find the fuse had blown... not sure why this was right after I bought it and had only ridden it once prior. Since replacing the fuse I’ve had zero issues with it. Especially love the built in code reader- life saver.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cadillac of ATVs I recently rode my Suzuki King Quad 750 until it wouldnt ride anymore. That bike gave me 6 years of work hard play hard time. When that kicked the dust I looked around at all the new available four wheelers and decided upon the Sportsman 850 SP Premium. So far I have taken it out four (4) times, the first few times was just to break it in. The last time I took it out was to see what she really could do, to say the least, I was very impressed. With the electric steering dampeners it rides like a Cadillac even over rocks and through un-even terrain. The Polaris is comfortable to ride and has more power than expected. My only complaint for this wheeler is that while getting the "premium SP" is well worth the money, the larger rim size that they give you limits the aftermarket tires I can get now. In order to get the tires i want (STi Blackdiamonds) i would need to purchase additional rims. So all in all i guess thats not a bad complaint to have.
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent work tool Bought this in January for plowing snow and planting food plots. So far I have used it for plowing only, and it has worked great other than the cheesy synthetic winch line keeps breaking when using it to lift the plow up and down. I have had to repair is six times so far, other than that I would have given a 5 star rating at this time.
Date published: 2020-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic but really wanted camo Love it. Had Sportsman 750 before. Power steering amazing. Lots of storage. Forced to take Matte Titanium. Really wanted camo but production didn't start on camo until mid October, too late for my hunt trip out west first week of November. Camo is the only color with a season. Why wouldn't you make it first so it is available?
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth/comfortable/great power and handling! I have had many ATV/UTV products from Polaris and I must say this is the best of the bunch! The transmission and gear box are much improved. Front diff housing has been made stronger. Fit and finish is better. The ride and handling is very good. Power is strong and easy to control. I also think the new look is very aggressive.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the best ATV's I've ever owned.... This ATV has performed flawlessly since I've owned it. Since I am family oreinted. this fits right in, I have received no complaints from involved family members....only compliments. Plenty of power, a wide stance for those quick turns plus much more. I am sure we will get many years of enjoyment from this POLARIS ATV !!
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love everything about it....except.... 2018 Sportsman 850 SP, absolutely love the machine!! No issues at all with the exception of where the exhaust for the belt drive is, it exits just above the rear wheels, which seems like a silly spot as its not hard to get into mud and water which comes up above the tires. Other then that, absolutely awesome machine!!!
Date published: 2018-10-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Just okay It’s just an ok atv. The plus’s are it’s kooks, it’s torque is good and storage is good. Nice speedometer and instrument panel. Minuses are it’s not as fast as I thought it would be. Ground clearance is not good. Two months old and already making squeaks and noises. Hope it’s going to be reliable but jury out in that.
Date published: 2018-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT RIDE , FEEL VERY STABLE AND SECURE I bought this May 24 weekend 2019 and i love my new sportsman 850 sp premium edition , i would love to see Polaris make the new body style on the 850 touring edition i would have bought that machine if it didn't have the old body on it i think if those two touring editions where revamped you would sell a lot more.
Date published: 2019-08-18
  • y_2022, m_10, d_2, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_319
  • loc_en_US, sid_A21SYE85AP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

**Availability of some equipment, options and/or features, including Wi-Fi connectivity on RIDE COMMAND models, may be limited or not available due to global supply issues affecting our industry. Please continue to build your vehicle and request local dealer price but be sure to work with your local Polaris dealer to ensure the vehicle you purchase includes all expected features and equipment.


All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2022 Polaris Inc.