Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Sportsman® Touring 850 Reviews

2021 Sportsman Touring 850 Navy Blue is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 319.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good ride and handling This is my 3rd Polaris ATV and my second sportsman 850. My other Polaris ATV was a scrambler 1000. While my favourite by far was the scrambler, the sportsman 850 is a great quad for a combo of work and play. Only thing I would change on the sportsman is factory fox podium shocks and more power is always good!
Date published: 2018-06-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable ride I have had this ATV for Couple months now and it drives great, easy to steer and plunty of power! Only down side is as a SP model you are very limited to extra features to upgrade to like the frame being very unique and can not find a lift kit for this model and polaris dosnt not offer any factory options.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the ATV I purchased this main to plow my driveway in Colorado and if does an amazing job. I also play with this toy in the summer and it's power to size ratio is perfect. The only thing that I wish it came with is better LED lights? Not sure why this isn't standard. Seems like we all have to upgrade the lights?
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the power I bought this in September a few weeks before back surgery so I haven't really gotten any trail time on it yet. I have been able to run up and down my road, around the yard and fields. So far I love this machine! Enough power to put a silly grin on your face, with the ease of power steering.
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect balance of power and comfort I wanted something with power but comfortable for the passenger. I find this bike has great power and handling when alone, and good balance when 2 UP. The only thing is the stock bike should be a bit higher. I put a 2" lift on it and made the world of difference on rough trails.
Date published: 2019-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2019 Sportsman 850 SP Polaris Pursuit Camo Review Overall I am pleased with the Sportsman 850 SP. One major problem that I would like to see corrected is that the rear plastic fender is getting very hot located over the muffler. After about 30 minutes of riding, you can barely put your hand on it and my right leg gets very hot.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 850 Sportsman Ride quality is excellent. Lots of power, more than I need. The power delivery is smooth and predictable. Power steering is great but touchy at higher speeds. Lots of standard storage. Polaris needs to start equipping their ATVs with 2” receivers, that’s my only complaint.
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 850 sp I’ve had this wheeler for about 3 months. 0 problems. PLENTY OF POWER! Rides great! I use it for riding, mudding, pulling trailers, hunting and whatever comes along. It’s a great machine, the second one that I’ve owned. I had the first one 12 years, it was a good machine.
Date published: 2018-11-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best atv on the market This is my 4th Polaris 850. I've owned a Suzuki king quad, Yamaha grizzly, and Kawasaki Brute force previously. Polaris definitely has the smoothest ride and best four wheel drive system. I love being able to put in in four wheel and leave it there if I choose.
Date published: 2019-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the bike just a few somethings I really love everything about it there are just 2 things that I am not happy about one is the seat keeps getting holes in it only has 250 km and I have 2 holes in the seat and the other thing is two of the Centre caps for the rims and came out and got lost
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazingly refined I upgraded five years to the same machine and I am amazed how refined this machine is. The engineering process is spot on to what a consumer wants from this product. everyhing is smooth and powerful and fast. I am in absolute love with my new machine.
Date published: 2018-11-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hunting and fun I bought the 850 so for hunting and for fun. I got the sp model for the electric power steering. My wife is 8 months pregnant and she takes my daughter for rides and my 11 year son can ride it also. I have yet to find anything the 850 so can't do.
Date published: 2018-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful comfortable machine My first new Polaris was a 2017 sportsman 450 HO for my wife, and I had a 2007 Arctic Cat 650. The Arctic Cat is a bulletproof machine no doubt but at the same time stiffer than a board and not very comfortable. When I rode the 450 for the first time I was amazed at the level of comfort on that atv. The Arctic Cat didn’t even come close. The time to move up to a newer ATV came sooner than I anticipated and my first choice was a big bore ATV. I didn’t know if I wanted a 850 or a 1000, but after riding that 450 it was definitely going to be a Polaris. Looking at the prices and horsepower the 850 in my opinion is a better buy. For 2000 dollars more for a 10000cc your only gaining 12HP. I have only put about 6 hours on the 850 so far but it’s an awesome ATV. When the weather warms up I’ll be on it much more. My only complaint is the rear storage door, it broke off the first time I trailered the atv, I must not have closed it all the way and the wind on the highway snapped it off. I wish the hinges were replaceable instead of cheap molded plastic.
Date published: 2019-02-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great handling, smooth ride, nice power Great machine really like it. Only two complaints 1. Even after one way bearing was replaced in clutch it is still hard to shift 2. Grease fittings are really hard to get to and some were tapped in crooked and leaked grease around threads.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Newfoundland ride bike I bought my bike in aug 2018, although I have not have a lot of riding time, what I did ride has been great. This bike will tackle any condition thrown at it, and in Newfoundland, that could be anything from hard pack road to swamp bogs!
Date published: 2018-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable the sportsman 850 is the most comfortable ate i have ridden. the suspension is plush, the power steering is on point and the seat is soft. i really like how polaris uses the space of the racks for storage. the motor has plenty of power.
Date published: 2020-01-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from SPortsman SP 850 Review So far I am very happy with just about every aspect of the ATV, save for the electrical wiring connections and harnesses. I wished that Polaris would copy Yamaha and just make the wiring a little more weather and moisture protected.
Date published: 2019-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful and smooth riding I bought my sportsman 850SP in November. It has plenty of power and payload. I even pull my 20 foot trailer around my property with it. Adding accessories is my favorite part, and the Polaris aftermarket parts fit perfectly.
Date published: 2019-02-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantasticaly Fun. This machine is awesome. So much fun to play with and just as fun to work with. My wife and I like to ride the trails and this machine is so comfortable and powerful enough to go anywhere we want. Totally live my Sportsman.
Date published: 2018-12-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine Very impressed with the power of my new Polaris 850. I’m happy with my purchase. I would have rated it 5 stars but within the first month my 3500lb wench rope broke. Besides that I couldn’t have ask for a nicer machine.
Date published: 2019-06-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polaris quality I bought my 850 twin back in November. I went from the 500 Sportsman which was an awesome bike up to the 850. Power steering is so sweet. Speaking of power, this engine really moves this bike. Love it, love it, love it.
Date published: 2020-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a machine!! I’m happy we bought this 850 for my wife and I. Easy to control and great power when you want it. We ride above 9000 ft. Ele. And have no worries of being underpowered. One word to describe the machine is “Confidence”.
Date published: 2019-11-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ride quality I chose the 850 and was afraid it was going to be a little too much for a newbie but man the ride quality and comfort is amazing. So glad I went with the 850sp, it handles rough terrain so smoothly and very stable.
Date published: 2019-12-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome machine. Way more features than Suzuki I bought the Polaris over the Suzuki King Quad. More features and power than the Suzuki. The ride of the suspension and performance of the 850 is awesome. Great looking machine. My first Polaris ATV purchase.
Date published: 2019-10-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rolls Royce of quads! Power steering amazing! This machine has the power and comfort to get you anywhere you need to go. Climbs up almost anything and with the downhill assist makes coming back down with power steering no problem.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine! I upgraded from a Polaris 400 that was a solid unit. The features on the 850 SP are second to none! The engine sounds strong and it is strong. The suspension and power steering bring comfort to the ride!
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Touring 850 TOPS This is the second Sportsman Touring I have owned. This one even gives a better ride and is very responsive with the throttle, steering and braking. I use the bike on a 2,000 acre ranch in NW Nebraska.
Date published: 2021-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work Horse with Luxury I hunt with this unit and it simply gets the job done better than anything I've had before. The power steering, overall power (both torque and top-end speed) combined with comfort make this the bomb!
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride very comfortable I bought this 5 months ago and I am very pleased with the purchase. I always have a passenger because the back seat is very comfortable and the machine is very stable. We enjoy it tremendously.
Date published: 2019-11-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome power, great ride , very versatile One ride and you won't be disappointed in power, smooth engine , rides great, seat is very comfortable for a long days ride 100+ miles of if you wish. I'm very pleased I purchased my 850 !!!
Date published: 2018-06-22
  • y_2022, m_11, d_27, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_4, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_319
  • loc_en_US, sid_A21SYE85AP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

**Availability of some equipment, options and/or features, including Wi-Fi connectivity on RIDE COMMAND models, may be limited or not available due to global supply issues affecting our industry. Please continue to build your vehicle and request local dealer price but be sure to work with your local Polaris dealer to ensure the vehicle you purchase includes all expected features and equipment.


All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2022 Polaris Inc.