Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Sportsman® Touring 850 Reviews

2021 Sportsman Touring 850 Navy Blue is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 288.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Machine I have ever ridden! This bike has exceeded every expectation I have had. The ride on this bike is second to none, the suspension and ride quality is like you are riding in a Cadillac. Polaris has just received a customer for life.
Date published: 2020-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solid Fun Ride Great first ATV. Does everything I want and does it well. Comfortable for long rides and has great range. Has taken everything I've thrown at it and done it perfectly. Very happy with my ride.
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great ride Bought it 3 months ago and very impressive machine two things I’d like to see improved tho factory lighting and factory tires those two not even close to the competition on same level of options
Date published: 2020-07-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I bought this quad 3 months ago and aboslutely love it. Excellent comfort and power. Best machine I have ever rode. However I have not put too many hours on it yet to speak to the reliability of it. Things I would change/add. Some kind of hooks or rack in front of headlight so I could strap things to it, across front to back. Also changing of the shift stick. To some kind of system where you dont have to guess and search to find the correct position. Otherwise love this quad
Date published: 2018-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fun to ride very comfortable, good throttle response and eps works great in tight trail riding.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Styling Bought my new Polaris 850 (my second one) a couple of months ago. I love the new styling of the Sportsman. Its more aggressive looking, without sacrificing the front and rear rack space. The performance is amazing and definitely feels more peppy than the previous versions despite the engine and weight specs being the same (maybe related to new exhaust system?). There are two design changes that I am not happy about. 1) the front box is significantly smaller, which requires you to get the rear box. 2) When you get the rear box and install it, it blocks the truck space (now accessed from the top of the rear rack). These are however survivable issues, more just a nuisances. Polaris needs to come out with more 2018 accessories. I have $$ waiting to spend! The bike is awesome in every other way, and I love it.
Date published: 2018-06-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rides great I never had a problem with my 4 wheeler lots of power handles great
Date published: 2018-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy rider I'm an older dirt bike rider who still wants to get out and tear it up. My wife enjoys getting out with me in the Nevada dessert on her 2017 570 SP. I bought my 850 SP to be more in pace with my wife on her quad than me on a dirt bike. I was convinced to buy Polaris a second time from the reliability and performance we experienced from our 570. The 850 is just that much better with an additional 30+ hp and a smoother ride, it's all smiles. Keep it up Polaris!
Date published: 2018-11-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power of a Beast that is nimble on the Trail Thanksgiving Purchase that has been a blast through the winter. Plows snow bettter than my old beater. Trail riding in every condition is a blast. The 850 has plenty of power with no need for extra cost of the 1000. It can go anywhere. Winter snow, spring mud, rock climb, steep mountain, or my black top drive and it looks good everywhere. Full disclosure get the hand guards, grip and thumb warmers. Cruising in the cold would be un bareable with out them.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Plenty of Power! Smooth Ride! I bought this 2019 Polaris sportsman 850SP premium in January of 2020. Very happy with the power comfort and ride ability of the machine. However it just went in for its 1st service (25 Hours) which includes an oil change and full inspection which revealed a little bit of slack and the front drive train coming from transmission. Tech said it was fairly normal but to keep an eye on it and not worry too much because I have the full aftermarket warranty.
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It’s a beast I’ve had this machine for 4 months now and have put over 700km on it. I bought it cause I farm maple syrup and I need to get around in the bush innyhe spring. It can Be a total work horse and tow a trailer full of hard wood out of the bush with ease. I was surprised how smooth it rides at low speeds in the bush. but it’s also a weapon when it wants to play and the power steering amazing Only downfall is the stock tires are not very good in snow
Date published: 2018-12-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Michele 850 A few years ago my husband and I bought a old green Polaris 500 to share. After a few months we purchased another used Polaris 500 so we would each have a unit to ride. After two years we upgraded and I bought a used Sportsman 570. After a another year my husband bought a used Polaris 1000. After a test drive I realized I too needed a better unit. At this point we were both riding often and needed a better unit. The Polaris 850 is my unit!
Date published: 2018-12-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine - Great Features - Excellent Price Purchased this ATV over the summer and have been out a ton with my boy. This machine has great power, awesome handling, and ton of neat features. Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking to get into off-roading. My only minor complaint is that the rear control arm bushings (that hold the knuckle) wore out prematurely. Nothing that can't be fixed with a warranty visit to my local shop. Overall, very happy with my purchase!!
Date published: 2018-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ride! I have a 2003 Polaris 800 Ranger side-by side and before that a 6 wheel Polaris Ranger! Both great machines. We also have 2 Polaris sleds. My wife loves driving her own machine! This Sportsman Touring added an element of fantastic fun! Feels like going from a car (side by side) to a motorcycle and my wife loves to ride behind me. We also love driving it in the summer as much as the winter (especially with the lack of snow)!
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing power and incredible ride!! This is my 3rd Sportsman atv and this one is by far the best one!! The power is amazing with smooth delivery and rocket ship acceleration! Suspension is insanely plush and feels like your riding on air! The new seat is crazy soft and you just sink into it! I love the amount of storage and the improved body work with factory fender flares to keep you clean! Overall it’s a perfect machine to play on or work with! A++++++++++
Date published: 2020-03-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great ride Great power I originally bought a 520 rubicon but coming from dirt bikes and sport quads in the past it didn’t have enough to satisfy the vroom factor and the ride would beat me up. I had an 800S rzr so thought I would give Polaris quads a look and so glad that I did. It has the softest ride of any quad I’ve been on and the vroom factor leaves you smiling. The Polaris 850SP is a great quad and I highly recommend giving them a try.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from value After working as a power sports technician I was able to discern which atv I felt had the best value. The polaris sportsman 850 and 1000 have a unique sound and an even better feel and ride quality than anything else I have ridden including can am, honda, arctic cat, suzuki, and yamaha. I feel this atv is the best value so that's where I chose to spend my hard earned money and I couldnt be happier with the purchase.
Date published: 2020-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product for Right Price The Sportsman is an all around work horse. No matter who you talk to they have ridden one of these at some point and love them and probably still have it. This machine is no different. Awesome power control, great maneuverability and agility while on the trails with lots of extras that come for free on the SP model. Polaris went above and beyond by pre-wiring the 850 SP for many parts or accessories that the 1000 has so you will find power accessory plugs around the machine waiting for you to use with no additional work. I shopped around quite a bit before landing on this machine, but I am happy I did because the experience of buying, using, and purchasing accessories have been easy and affordable as Polaris also does a great job with ensuring that customers can always buy factory parts to repair their machines if something breaks. Great machine for any riding style.
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ENJOY IT ! ITS POWERFUL AND ABLE This quad, like all my other Polaris ATV's is quite capable, suspension is good once i adjusted it to my weight and riding style. With the oversized tires I added fender flares and cranked up the shock preload adjusters to keep the tires from rubbing on them. I added the Polaris winch and used it last weekend, It pulled a stuck sport quad up the hill no problem. Overall I am pleased with this purchase.
Date published: 2019-04-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!!❤❤❤❤❤ This mighty little machine is my all around the property helper. Wheather plowing, pulling, winching or just plainly having fun, my sportsman named " Buddy" can do it all. The only thing i wished he would have less fuel consumption. Other than that, polaris is so well thought through with anything, parrs are engineerd with a brain, well fitting and great functionality. I love riding my Buddy.
Date published: 2019-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfortable I bought this bike to replace my aging 2009 Sportsman. What a difference despite the 2 bikes being on the same platform. The motor is a lot smoother. The suspension is amazing. Works great in the rough and how nice is the power steering? No kickback through the handle bars when you hit those submerged stumps and rocks. This bike is a great combination of power and smoothness.
Date published: 2018-12-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Frustrating to work on, unreliable...so far. I bought my Sportsman 850SP in May 2019 and at first I was very happy with the bike, incredible power and lots of fun to ride. As time went on I came to realize there a few things that could definitely be changed on this bike. The grease nipples on the front A-Arms are directed towards the inside of the frame making it very difficult to grease. The way the clutches are designed, being at the back of the bike to accommodate a linear engine make it nearly impossible or at least VERY difficult to change a belt if you happened to blow one on a ride. The front and rear rack design makes it very difficult to clean the bike as they aren't easily removable and mud/sand/debris packs in. The bike has a tendency to run hot, very hot. It seems that many of the little issues the bike has (atleast in my opinion) could be fixed with more aggressive clutching, lower temp fan engagement and more space to run piping to snorkel the clutch, the clutch intake sits right on top of the engine. So far, at 1500kms and less than 100 hours I've had the following. - blown belt at 600km - brakes were toast around 700km - blown hub bearing - cluster inoperable and unresponsive (backordered) - starter failed (backordered) - play in the power steering assembly - over heated and went into limp mode. (I'm predicting a pinion seal in the near future) The way it's going so far, I can't say I would give the bike itself a very positive review. However, as for the dealer they've been very accommodating and helpful. They even offered to lend me a demo in case mine wasn't ready for my hunting trip. Things I do like about the bike; the ride and handling is superior to any other bike I've ridden. The power is phenomenal, not nearly as aggressive as the can-am but much more manageable and enjoyable to ride if you like taking your time. I'm not sure if I would reccomend this bike or not to be honest. If you made it this far into my review I will say this; I dont think polaris makes a bad bike. I think I drew the short straw on this one. Many of my friends own polaris products and they've been fantastic. Most of them are ridden much harder than mine too. As for me personally, it hasn't been the most enjoyable experience yet and it's far from what I thought it was going to be.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome ATV Purchased 3 months ago. I am very satisfied with the ATV. The power and responsiveness is very impressive. Polaris has done an amazing job with the electric power steering. The entire design of the unit seems to wrap around the rider making you feel like a part of the arc. The only negative is that the low beam headlamps shine too high and are not adjustable.
Date published: 2020-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great vehicle Have had for a little over 6 months and the machine runs great. Had one minor issue with EPS, that being it shut down. Took me about and hour to find the fuse had blown... not sure why this was right after I bought it and had only ridden it once prior. Since replacing the fuse I’ve had zero issues with it. Especially love the built in code reader- life saver.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not overly happy I had an Arctic cat xr 700 before and the Polaris seems to be a more solid bike but don’t have the ground clearance of the cat and the ride over rough terrain is much better with the cat I’m not give up on the Polaris yet because I like the power but I have a 2” lift coming for her if that don’t help I might be in the market for another brand
Date published: 2020-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cadillac of ATVs I recently rode my Suzuki King Quad 750 until it wouldnt ride anymore. That bike gave me 6 years of work hard play hard time. When that kicked the dust I looked around at all the new available four wheelers and decided upon the Sportsman 850 SP Premium. So far I have taken it out four (4) times, the first few times was just to break it in. The last time I took it out was to see what she really could do, to say the least, I was very impressed. With the electric steering dampeners it rides like a Cadillac even over rocks and through un-even terrain. The Polaris is comfortable to ride and has more power than expected. My only complaint for this wheeler is that while getting the "premium SP" is well worth the money, the larger rim size that they give you limits the aftermarket tires I can get now. In order to get the tires i want (STi Blackdiamonds) i would need to purchase additional rims. So all in all i guess thats not a bad complaint to have.
Date published: 2019-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent work tool Bought this in January for plowing snow and planting food plots. So far I have used it for plowing only, and it has worked great other than the cheesy synthetic winch line keeps breaking when using it to lift the plow up and down. I have had to repair is six times so far, other than that I would have given a 5 star rating at this time.
Date published: 2020-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Machine - but no accessories The machine has been great other a few small issues. Love the power steering and longer wheel base. - overheating after riding through mud / clay - rad should be tilted forward not backwards. - plastic tabs on under seat storage broke the first day - poor design - no impressed with the lack of accessories - no back storage options.
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fantastic but really wanted camo Love it. Had Sportsman 750 before. Power steering amazing. Lots of storage. Forced to take Matte Titanium. Really wanted camo but production didn't start on camo until mid October, too late for my hunt trip out west first week of November. Camo is the only color with a season. Why wouldn't you make it first so it is available?
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth/comfortable/great power and handling! I have had many ATV/UTV products from Polaris and I must say this is the best of the bunch! The transmission and gear box are much improved. Front diff housing has been made stronger. Fit and finish is better. The ride and handling is very good. Power is strong and easy to control. I also think the new look is very aggressive.
Date published: 2019-01-03
  • y_2020, m_11, d_24, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_288
  • loc_en_US, sid_A21SYE85AP, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2020 Polaris Inc.